In California, Divorce begins at the date of service. This means that the date of filing a divorce is not the beginning timeframe. A Divorce in California takes a minimum of 6 months and 1 day from the date of service. Service is the formal notification that a Divorce has been filed. Service is … Read more about Divorce Service in CA
How to Get a Divorce When Spouse Won’t Sign
Many people think that the spouse has to sign a document in order to get divorced. However, a signature from the spouse is not necessary. In a divorce, the petitioner (the one who files for divorce) files and then arranges for service. The court requires a ‘proof of service’ which is simply a … Read more about How to Get a Divorce When Spouse Won’t Sign
What are my Rights as a Wife in a California Divorce?
Husband and wife have the same rights in a divorce. This means that the laws with regard to divorce do not discriminate with regard to the sex of the parties or their roles in the marriage. California is a community property state. In this regard,real estate as well as assets and debts that were … Read more about What are my Rights as a Wife in a California Divorce?